Flaming June?

Almost everything is growing well, especially the weeds. Notable exceptions are the beetroot and chard. With just one beetroot seedling and no sign of the chard, I think that counts as failure. Not a complete disaster though, as I found a few chard seedlings self sown from last year’s plants. Not where I wanted them, but at least I’ve got some! The peas are about ready to start harvesting and the mangetout peas are starting to pod up as well. All that rain we’ve had for the last few weeks has flattened the potato plants and broad beans and the pigeons having been having a brassica feast, but on the whole it is still looking quite good. 

 I’ve planted pumpkins in the top veg patch, but they are now surrounded by knee-high weeds.  An unexpected harvest though, as I’ve now got a family of baby bunnies with insatiable appetites, so all those docks and groundsel plants are being harvested for bunnies.

About Quackers

I left the rat race behind and bought a smallholding in Devon. Repairs to the listed farmhouse swallowed up any money I managed to make and I was constantly playing catch-up with Mother Nature, but heck, who cares, it was fun! I've now downsized somewhat, though I still keep ducks and am trying to get a vegetable patch going, though the bungalow I bought needed a lot of work to it (and I'm not finished yet) so it's slow progress.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment